(Thu Oct 27, 2022)
REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTERING INTO A MARRIAGE
APPOINTMENTS ARE REQUIRED TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Please contact Ms. Bae, Registrar at 201-784-0600 Ext 493, JBAE@CLOSTERNJ.US or her Deputy, Mrs. Ceccon at 201-784-0600 Ext 490 to make an appointment or any questions you might have.
Office Hours are Monday 8:30AM – 4:30PM, Tue-Fri 8:30AM-12:00PM.
THE FOLLOWING CRITERIA MUST BE MET BEFORE TWO PEOPLE CAN ENTER A MARRIAGE IN NJ
Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or recognized by this state. Be at least 18 years of age.
WHERE TO APPLY:
- Apply for the marriage license in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides. The license is valid throughout New Jersey.
- If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. In this case, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
- If you are being married in another state, you must apply in the state where you plan to be married. New Jersey marriage licenses are not acceptable for ceremonies that will be on a boat at sea.
WHO MUST COME TO APPLY:
- Applicants – Both must appear in our office to apply for a marriage license.
- A Witness 18 years of age or older.
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS WHEN APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE:
- Proof of identity by presenting your valid driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
- Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident.
- Social Security number* - Card not required.
- A witness, 18 years of age or older.
- The $28 application fee as a form of cash, a money order payable to the City of Hackensack or debit/credit card.
*Y our social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential. Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation/notarized .
AFTER YOU APPLY:
In New Jersey there is a mandatory three (3) days or 72 hours waiting period before a license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72 hours waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage. We are NOT open on the weekends for the release of marriage licenses. If you are planning to be married on a particular weekend, the latest that you can apply is the Tuesday before, in order to satisfy the three days (72 hours) by Friday. If getting marry before 72 hours, a waiver from the superior court is needed.
The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.